I’ve been… framed!!!

Sweet! I’ve learned new things on tonite’s web design class: Frames!

Ok I’m lying here, I knew already about frames but, yeah I was missing a couple of tiny details, like when clicking on a menu button, on which frame the new page will load…

I definitely gotta try and do some “frames-pages” examples this weekend.

I also got to fix my home LAN sometime! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Responses to I’ve been… framed!!!

  1. liverbones says:

    If I were you, I’d stay away from frames. They are a gigantic heap of trouble, especially if you’re designing a site for cross-browser support or one that you want to be accessible to those with disabilities. Screen readers often do not know how to handle frames properly. Frames are very nifty when you first learn about them, but trust me, it’s truly not worth it. Put in the extra elbow-grease and design without them. Later on, perhaps when (or rather “if”) you learn some PHP, you will be able to modularize your sites basically emulating a frames-style layout without the use of frames.

    In short, frames are a major hassle for any web designer who wants to be taken seriously. Used in moderation, they can be helpful, but when they’re the sole basis for a design they are a gigantic headache.

  2. vagpod says:

    To be honest, I had a feeling that frames are exactly what you’re saying. And I feel that the design is quite limited by using frames. Furthermore, it must be a major pain in the backside to align the graphics properly.

    The way I see it from what I know so far, it would be best to make a template in photoshop, slice it up and then make a table in Dreamweaver exactly identical as your photoshop slices layout and then use the little sliced images as either cell backgrounds or content (if they are linked buttons for example).

    I made a frames based website 3-4 years ago and yeah that was a real pain ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for the valuable input by the way and I don’t think that I will ever get involved with php, I still need some hair on my head lol!

  3. liverbones says:

    Tables can also be tricky, but if you do not know the required CSS, they will generally work. Personally, I prefer using CSS positioning to move elements around. Your code will be much, much cleaner when using an external style sheet, meaning web spiders (such as Google’s indexing spider) will be able to read your pages more easily and, therefore, give you a bit of an advantage in page rankings.

    Sorry if I’m going over your head a little here, but for the moment, tables should do you just fine. When you start getting into modifying HTML and CSS code in a text editor, ditch the tables in favor of CSS positioning. There’s a rather steep learning curve to it, but the results are fantastic.

  4. vagpod says:

    Thanks for the inside info once again! I must admit it was a bit too much for me at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚

    The syllabus only touches the tip of CSS theory, we’re not going deeply into it, as it’s a basic web design course, not an advanced one. And yeah CSS is quite hard to learn, harder to master but you can achieve wonderful results.

Leave a Reply

