Ressurection by stupidity!

Silly me!

Although being involved with the “things with loads of keys on” (aka computers) since 1984, sometimes I’m still driven by pure stupidity! Here’s what happened yesterday; read, laugh and learn!

I woke up Sunday morning, so naturally (of course) the first thing is to go make myself a nice cup of coffee and turn on my pc. So I did! But… the damn thing wouldn’t boot! Hell! It wouldn’t even show the bios-set image of the motherboard!!!..

Panic!… I switched off, took all the cables off, re-installed them and powered back again with the hope that static electricity might cause the problem (sometimes it does)… Nothing!!!… Still no boot…

Panic twice!!!… 2 were my major suspects. Number one: the motherboard has gone flat and on second place: the graphics card. Power supply was running ok, since everything was working in order, but it didn’t show any signal on the screen.

Now, unless I’m on a trip on the road and have things to keep myself busy, I wouldn’t mind a day’s absence of my machine, but having to spend the whole day inside WITHOUT a pc was a nightmare!! My stupidity was even more extended as normally, I would have my laptop to replace the absence of the main machine, but… I’ve left my laptop back at the office. And there was no way I could get it on a Sunday afternoon.

Worse came to worse when I start ringing my friends to arrange for a coffee out or something… they were all busy, or unavailable.

So there was nothing left to do, than pick up a biro and draw, draw, draw with a few “chugging sessions” with Spikey in between. (btw Spikey is my B.C. Rich Ironbird axe of morbid and foul metal sound hahaha).

Thankfully the day was over. I woke up very early today and rushed to the local computer store to buy a brand new motherboard. Then rushed off to work. Back in the evening when I realized how stupid I was…

I dismantled the whole machine down, unwrapped the new motherboard, put everything back on and powered up… Still zip! Nothing!!!

OK, the motherboard was new, so what else could cause the problem?

I changed the video card with an older one I kept, but still no success….

And then flash!… What if one of the RAMs was causing the problem? I begun taking one by one out and trying to power up.

Ahaaaaa! There it was! As soon as I took out the 3rd RAM chipboard the damn thing worked! Arrrrrghhhhhhhhhhhhh!

___________________________________

So what do you learn from this? a) don’t panic, b)don’t make any unnecessary and stupid expenses and c) for god’s sake check those RAM chips, they might be causing your non-booting problem.

EDiT 02.04.2008:

My web-design tutor informed me, that if the non-booting problem is caused by a faulty RAM chip then you hear a beeping sound when you power up.

Leave a Reply

