Clint’s shooting gallery weekend

With such a snowstorm outside and a rough cold I wasn’t up to do many things this weekend. Not to mention that the fever from my cold wouldn’t allow me to concentrate on doing any work, or anything else. So I decided to take it easy and relax 🙂

Having a good DVD collection (which most of the movies I haven’t found the time to watch yet) I dug up some discs with good ol’ Clint Eastwood movies. I wasn’t in the mood for anything else. Clint is one of my favorite actors, I like two things about him: He doesn’t talk too much, he gets easily pissed off and when he does I love that famous pissed off grin he does! He usually plays characters that they have a shitty life and disregard any rules or authority, just to do their business right. His movies are really nice to watch, cause they are simple and easy going on the plot, yet not totally stupid “Rambo styled”.

So I’ve watched Dirty Harry II -Magnum Force, Hearbreak Ridge, Firefox, Space Cowboys and The Rookie.

Firefox was really cool, Clint is a badass pilot with the mission to steal a Soviet Stealth aircraft prototype, the Mig-31 (which if you look around the web you can also find a good and very detailed model of the “Firefox” -the supposed Mig-31 for Microsoft’s Flight Simulator), Heartbreak Ridge puts Clint in the role of a marine new recruits trainer, where he has to train and command his squad through an invasion on a Latin speaking rebel -of course- island (can you guess any real names? – 4 letters beginning with C and ending with UBA!). Nice movie, although the mission-invasion war part is very light, dry and naive.

Space Cowboys puts Clint in the role of a flight engineer, where with his team pf 3 other members he is being sent to the Earth’s orbit to retreive an old Soviet communications satellite, only to discover that the satellite and the mission in general, is not so… innocent as it first seemed.

Anyways, I have enjoyed the weekend, being a total couch potato with some DVDs. I might do it more often, as it is cool sometimes to let everything go and enjoy a movie, or two, or 5!…

Leave a Reply

