Ford Mustang 2008 – Bullit edition

Inarguably there are only a few car fans in the world that haven’t heard about the 1968 film “Bullitt”, starring Steve McQueen. One of the things that Bullit remains noted for is a glorious car chase which lasts for quite a long time at the film’s end, between Bullitt’s 1968 Mustang GT 390 Fastback (painted Dark Highland Green) and the rival’s black Dodge Charger.

Exactly 40 years later, Ford decides to awaken the legend by putting the Bullitt logo and releasing a special edition (another one that is) of their new Mustang in fully Monty under it’s hood featuring a 4.6-liter, 3-valve V-8 which delivers 315 horsepower at 6,000 rpm and 325 pound-feet of torque at 4,250 rpm! Now, the 2005 Ford Mustang is a design that needs no introduction; it’s clearly Retro at it’s best! it really revives the concept Mustang and in my opinion the 2005 model is the best and most vibrantly exciting Mustang design since the classic models.

The first question that came to my mind as soon as I saw the car was “Why would one want to own such a Mustang?”. Clearly I don’t see any other reason than car collecting. Or, if you loved the film so much that you want to own such a memorabilia. But in that case I would rather buy the original 68′ fastback than a new Mustang with the Bullitt logos all over the car!!! I thing te marketing department went a bit too far on this subject, they even put a Bullitt logo on the steering wheel! If I could afford a new Mustang I would certainly go for a GT, or something like that, but certainly I wouldn’t fall for such a marketing bad tasted trick.

Then again if I had some spare cash and wouldn’t know what to do with it, yeah I would buy one and store it well, just to sell it after 30-40 years on a multiple value from what I’ve purchased it on. As it is now, I even struggle even thinking about the price of the simplest Mustang 🙂

The official Ford website for the Bullitt model is here.

Also check the muscularmustangs.com about Mustang Bullitt.

Finally I wouldn’t leave you without some marvellous visuals would I?:

One Response to Ford Mustang 2008 – Bullit edition

  1. fordflags says:

    Hey, I cant see KITT with a ford mustang. It is just awkward! I am used to see the pontiac firebird with david, reminding my childhood.
    I will watch the movie for sure.

Leave a Reply

